By the Grace of God

By the grace of God I made it through watching a horrible disease kill my mom. By the grace of God I made it through three more deaths after that. And by the grace of God I will get through this.

The Thursday before Easter I called 911 at 3:30 in the morning. As I waited for the ambulance to arrive, I watched my aunt as she struggled to breathe.

Since then her health has been changing almost daily. One night she was on life support and unresponsive. Then she was stable. The outcome of her health is still undetermined.

I think one reason this whole process is so hard is that it forces me to wait for the unknown. I am one who loathes not knowing what is going to happen. This whole situation has forced me to completely put my future into God’s hands. It is completely up to him with what happens to my aunt and how quickly it happens.

I knew she was a major part of my life, but spending two weeks away from her has made it evident. I cannot go long without something that reminds me of her. I have not wanted to tell hers things as much as I have these past couple of weeks. The fact that I may not be able to ever again, is hard.

“And after you have suffered a little while, the God of all grace, who has called you to his eternal glory in Christ, will himself restore, confirm, strengthen, and establish you.” 1 Peter 5:10

 

Through it all, I will continue to follow Christ!

 

Leave a Reply

