Tiffany Snyder

You are where you are because of God. Last semester I decided to take a leadership class, which also ended up being taught by someone other than who I thought, which I was so disappointed. It ended up being taught by Tiffany Snyder, who is this little, quirky, blonde person who barely looks old enough to teach. At first I wasn’t too eager to be in her class, but I could tell how genuine and sweet she was, and decided to give her a chance. Let me just say “Thank you God for Tiffany Snyder!”

She ended up being one of the professors who got to hear all about me. Our class went on a field trip where we went to a dinner theatre, and Tiffany ended up sitting at my table. We were talking, and somehow it led to my aunt being in the hospital. This was during the time that it was almost certain that my aunt wasn’t going to make it. That then led to questions like “what about your parents?” and so on. After that day, Tiffany periodically checked up to see how both my aunt and I were doing.

It was not until today I realized how big a part she played in my life when my aunt was in the hospital. Today started off hard, but then I ran into, guess who, Tiffany Snyder. I updated her with what was going on in my life. I told her about my plans after graduation in December, and about my reconnection with my siblings. When we were finishing up our conversation, she said, “You better find me and update me,” and we then went our separate ways. It then dawned on how much she is now a part of my life. She was one of those people who I will forever be thankful for because she was there during my hardest time. I believe she will be one I will stay in contact with for the rest of my life.

That leadership class doesn’t benefit me in the sense of graduating, but it taught me an important lesson. It shows me that you are where you are for a reason. I believe God put me in that class when I needed it the most. I also happened to be in classes of the other two professors who knew about my history, which I believe is also proof that God puts you where you are supposed to be. Throughout my life I have tried to remind myself that I am where I am because I’m supposed to be, but it wasn’t until today that I truly believed and saw that.

People like Tiffany can be hard to find, but God knew when I needed her the most. God also knew I needed to be at IWU when I was because there are quite a few ‘Tiffany’s’ there.

I feel like in this world being too nice is looked down upon. I am guilty of thinking like that, but it’s a LIE! Don’t be afraid to be “too” nice. It’s never a terrible thing to show someone some love, because who knows it may be the time where someone needs it the most. I’ve said it in another post, but even I sometimes need a reminder of how important it is to show love to others.

“Be completely humble and gentle; be patient, bearing with one another in love.”                                          -Ephesians 4:2

 

Leave a Reply

