Sarah…

When you spend most of your time at an university, you meet hundreds of people. Many of those people will touch you in some way.

I met Sarah my sophomore year of college, and was instantly mesmerized. Sarah was a Resident Director, which meant she was in charge of a dorm full of girls. She was the second RD that I had the pleasure of living under, and by far one of the best RD’s I will ever encounter.

I didn’t see Sarah for months after I met her the one time my sophomore year, as I was living off campus. After the one time I talked with Sarah, I carried her with me. I knew early on she was going to be one of the most amazing people I’d have the privilege of knowing.

I work for my university, so I stay on campus all year around. August of 2016 was when I moved into the dormitory where Sarah was in charge. We didn’t officially see each other until there was a tornado warning and I had to sit in a hallway with her and everyone who had moved in early. At this time, it was about four months after my aunt died, so there were many times I’d been very emotional. I had actually been in the middle of crying when we were called to the hallway. We were in the hallway for less than an hour, but as soon as we were free, I quickly escaped to my room. Sarah, who had only met me that one time months before, knew something was wrong with me. It wasn’t long after I got back to my room that I heard a knock on my door. I answered, while trying to keep the tears from falling, to find Sarah. The first thing she asked was “Are you okay?” I habitually said I was fine. She continued with saying things like “My door is always open,” and “You promise to talk to me anytime you need to.” Again I habitually said I would get her if I needed to, but I never did.

There aren’t many people that notice when I’m hardcore struggling, but Sarah did.¬†That is one of the qualities that makes her an amazing RD and companion.

Then weeks, maybe even months passed without much interaction with her (my fault, not hers). All of those weeks, my love for her was growing, but still not enough to let her into my walls. My friend Lexie, who had spent many hours in her office, allowed more small talk to happen between Sarah and me. If Lexie and I were together (which was almost daily) and Sarah’s office door was open, we’d stop by and talk to her for a few minutes.

By October, I was pretty comfortable with letting my crazy self out around Sarah. Again Lexie was a big cause for my craziness. Still, it was mainly small talk that I’d have with Sarah, as I was still keeping her from knowing who I really was as a person.

Sarah then got to witness me on one of the hardest days last year, my aunt’s birthday. Most of that day I was sad, but not enough to cry. I was laughing and smiling, but the next minute I was crying. Sarah happened to turn right when I was struggling to find air through the heavy crying. My roommate, Bethany, was right there and pulled me in while Sarah watched. Bethany took me back to our room, and again Sarah wasn’t far behind. My face was red, while tears were uncontrollably coming out of my piercing, green eyes. At this time Sarah may have known about my aunt’s death, but she still didn’t know what was causing my crying. She hugged me, while perfectly comforting me, even without knowing what I was going through. I knew she could tell there was much that she didn’t know, as she watched how protective Bethany was over me.

It was not until about the middle of November, where I sat with her one on one and told her all about my life. Something I should have shared at the beginning, but I have the tendency to tell some deep detail about me right before I am to leave (as I was graduating that December). Also after my aunt’s birthday, I thought it was time for her to know what I’d kept to myself most of the semester.

It is difficult to put my love for Sarah in words, but I am a better person for loving her. I am confident many people would agree.

Leave a Reply

